3 From USA Weightlifting Win Pan American Elections, Papandrea earns Medal for Sports Merit

LIMA, PERU -  USA Weightlifting continues to be a leading voice in the international governance of weightlifting and will be well represented in the Pan American Weightlifting Federation (PAWF) for the next four years. On January 14, three from USAW won their respective elections to leadership positions within the PAWF for the period of 2024-2028. Paula Aranda was elected to a member role on the Executive Board, while Dr. Kyle Pierce was re-elected to the Coaching and Research Committee, and Joe Triolo was re-elected to the Technical Committee. Ursula Papandrea, USAW’s General Secretary and International Weightlifting Federation (IWF) First Vice President, earned the Medal for Sports Merit from Association of Pan American Sports Confederations (ACODEPA) President Francisco Lee alongside PAWF President José Quiñones and IWF President Mohammed Jalood.

Pan American Weightlifting Federation official release

Aranda was elected to the PAWF Executive Board for the first time, having previously served in the PAWF as a commission member. Pierce and Triolo were Chairs of their respective committees. All newly elected members will serve until February of 2028 in accordance with the current PAWF Constitution.

“I am excited to represent the United States and to work with my colleagues on the Pan American Executive Board toward progressive and meaningful change that aligns with the reform at the IWF level,” Aranda said.

The newly elected Executive Board also features representatives from Mexico and Canada, bringing new and important voices to the sport’s regional governance.

“Governance reform in weightlifting has taken firm root, as recognized by the International Olympic Committee in its decision to keep our sport on the Olympic Program for LA2028,” said Matt Sicchio, President and CEO of USAW. “Our reform work is not done, and the election of Americans to leadership roles within the PAWF is a strong signal of USAW’s commitment to ensuring ethical governance, clean sport, and empowerment of the athlete voice at all levels of our sport.”

Complete List of Election Results:

José Quiñones PER – President (Re-elected)

William Peña COL – Secretary (Re-elected)

Nadia Alvarado MEX – 1st Vice President

Craig Walker CAN – 2nd Vice President

Jorge Barcelan CUB – 3rd Vice President

Luis Zambrano ECU – 4th Vice President

Luis Seijas VEN – Treasurer

Paula Aranda – USA – Member

Andrew Callender BAR – Member

Jorge España BOL – Member

Paola Mariscano URU – Rep. Athletes


Medical Committee:

Víctor Carpio PER

Yamil Gutiérrez CUB

Oriana Sarmiento COL


Technical Committee:

Rosa Castillo PER

Joseph Triolo USA

Jose Alarcon ECU


Coaching and Research Committee

Carlos Cuervo CUB

Kyle Pierce USA

Ursula Papandrea receives the Medal for Sports Merit from ACODEPA President Francisco Lee
Ursula Papandrea receives the Medal for Sports Merit from ACODEPA President Francisco Lee