University National Qualifications

2021 University National qualification changes effective immediately
Approved by the competition committee 2/13: Meeting minutes

For more information:

- Athlete must meet minimum qualification total
- Athlete must compete at a National University Qualification (NUQ) event 
- WSO state championship or WSO championship
- The athlete must have collegiate eligibility in BARS at the time of competition.
 - Regional Championship
In order to encourage collegiate participation and recognition of our collegiate teams it is vital to promote intercollegiate competition. This change will both encourage intercollegiate events as well as provide our university teams with more opportunity to expose their clubs to their university campus, local communities and to athletes within USA Weightlifting. 

Hosting intercollegiate local events will strengthen weightlifting’s application to the NCAA and also provide opportunities for other universities to create programs and compete. 

Should an athlete not have the option to attend a qualification event they will still have the option to compete at the U25 or Junior Nationals held in conjunction with the University National Championship. Additionally, athletes do not have to attend the qualification event in their region. 

1 of 3 meet options must be attended for University National participation: 

Starting September 1st, all WSO state championship events and results will be tagged as an NUQ event in BARS for U25 athletes. 
Unit teams hosting their own invitational meet will need to email after creating the event in BARS so that it can be tagged at an NUQ
Regional championship events will be tagged as NUQ's in BARS. 

Regional championship:
- Only teams within each region are eligible to become the regional champion, however teams from any region may compete for individual qualification. 
- Regional reps will manage the execution and implementation of the regional championship. 
- Medals and team banners will be provided by USA Weightlifting.
- Regional championship locations will be selected by the National University Weightlifting Committee which will be made up of the five regional representatives. 

Region 1 - West: Alaska, Hawaii, Washington, Montana, Oregon, Idaho, Wyoming, California, Nevada, Utah, Colorado

Region 2 - Mid West:  North Dakota, South Dakota, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri

Region 3 - Southwest: Arizona, New Mexico, Texas, Oklahoma

Region 4 - Southeast: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, Florida, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee 

Region 5 - Northeast: Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, New York, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania

Learn about Weightlifting

  • Weightlifting 101
  • Coaches - Get Certified!
United States Olympic and Paralympic Committee
  • Accessibility
  • Contact Us
  • Careers
  • Our Partners
  • Financials
  • Site Map
  • Terms of Use , opens in a new tab
  • Privacy Policy , opens in a new tab
  • Ombuds

© 2023 Copyright © USA Weightlifting - All Rights Reserved